Big Trouble in Little Geneva: Good Series Exposing the Major Theological Problems Inherent in John Piper’s Calvinist Theodicy

Be sure to check out Matt’s concise and devastating critique of Calvinist Theodicy as expressed by John Piper.  Make sure you have a look at the comments after the posts as well.

A Critique of John Piper’s Theodicy: Purposing Evil for the Purpose of Good?  Part 1

A Critique of John Piper’s Theodicy: Is God Morally Color Blind? Part 2

A Critique of John Piper’s Theodicy: Are we God’s evil Contract Assassins? Part 3

A Critique of John Piper’s Theodicy: Calvinism’s Cognitive Dissonance. Part 4

Related Posts and articles: 

Thomas McCall’s “We Believe in God’s Sovereign Goodness: A Rejoinder to John Piper (A truly devastating critique of numerous aspects of Piper’s Theology and his attempts to rescue his Theology from inevitable logical contradictions)

John Piper on God Ordaining All Sin and Evil Part 1: An Arminian Response to Piper’s First “Question”

Calvinism on the Horns: The Problem of Divine Foreknowledge in Calvinism And Why You Should be an Arminian

Who Authored the Crime?

The Fallacies of Calvinist Apologetics- Fallacy #8: “Calvinism Doesn’t Charge God With the Authorship of Sin”

More on the Authorship of Sin

More on the Authorship of Sin (Part 2)

More on the Authorship of Sin (Part 3)

 

9 thoughts on “Big Trouble in Little Geneva: Good Series Exposing the Major Theological Problems Inherent in John Piper’s Calvinist Theodicy

  1. Ben,

    First, many thanks for posting this! Second, as far as I can tell, the link to what’s supposed to be part 2 actually leads us to part 1. I hope this helps.

  2. Wow, just discovered your blog. Good luck with the noble fight for truth. Some time ago I published a response on my blog to John Piper’s 5 Reasons to Embrace Unconditional Election, and I remember my throat tightening as I imagined who would read it. I was deeply involved with a number of precious Calvinistic brothers many years ago, and many of them were not aware that I had changed my views after loosing contact with them. My emotional reaction as I hit the “publish” button reminded me of the degree to which I wanted to please these high profile men by trying (and to a degree claiming) to agree with their views. In hindsight, I don’t think I ever did, but the importance of being regarded as theologically astute by fellowshipping with these men made it difficult for me to get that. If I may change Upton Sinclair’s famous line somewhat: It is difficult to get a man to understand something, when his theological reputation depends upon his not understanding it!”

  3. Hey Tobie,

    Thanks for the comment. You are right that it is very hard and painful to shift theological orientations, especially once you have been fully committed to a certain view for some time. That is something we all need to guard against if we want to allow Scripture to dictate our theology and not the other way around. I read your post on 5 reasons to embrace conditional election and recommended it to someone who had just asked a question about Matthew 13 on my “??Questions??” page. I look forward to checking out more of your posts and articles.

    God Bless,
    Ben

Leave a comment