What A Bunch of Nonsense!

I received an e-mail that took a close look at some of Obama’s lack of experience and disturbing philosophies and policies (disturbing to me anyway), which few Americans are likely aware of.  It seemed well written and made some solid points but then ended with this doozy:

According to The Book of Revelations the anti-Christ will be a man, in his 40s, of MUSLIM descent,

who will deceive the nations with persuasive language, and have a MASSIVE

Christ-like appeal….the prophecy says that people will flock to him

and he will promise false hope and world peace, and when he is in power,

will destroy everything. Is it OBAMA??

Totally ridiculous.  The Bible nowhere states that the anti-christ will be of Muslim descent.  Absolute garbage.  It also says nothing of his age being in the “40’s”.  I challenge anyone to show me where the Bible says these things.  It is a shame that a decent article was tarnished by such fanatical nonsense.  It makes me wonder if I can trust anything else that was written in the article and makes me wonder if anyone, outside of some Christians who were already against Obama, will possibly take it seriously.  These sorts of outrageous and unnecessary comments do far more harm than good.  Without this comment this article might have persuaded some non-Christians to rethink their support for Obama, but with these comments it can only serve to strengthen their resolve and further harden them against those “wacky” fundamentalist Christians.

20 Responses

  1. I had heard this rumor and it is sad. While I like Obama and what he stands for, I totally agree with your post otherwise. I commend you for your efforts for truth, even if I don’t necessarily agree with everything…

  2. Ben: There’s more to the argument that the antichrist will be a Muslim than meets the eye. If you do believe that the antichrist will be a person and not a system or some other such interpretation then I’d suggest the book Unleashing the Beast by Perry Stone. If you do believe it’s going to be a system or just a spirit that’s already in the world influencing others then I’d say skip it.

  3. I agree that this is sad. It’s sad because many people read and don’t filter what they read. I had a discussion with my 13 year-old this morning about politics and “filtering” what we see/read in general. Sadly, many older people are naive enough to believe what comes through email or other media outlets must be true.

    Although, I don’t support Sen. Obama (for policy issues), there’s no room for this kind of stuff on either side.

  4. Nick,

    I tend to be futurist in my perspective and think there will be someone who will ultimately embody the spirit of ant-christ. I still can’t find anything in Scripture that would lead to me believing the anti-christ must be Muslim and in his forties. The best we can say is that he will likely be of eastern descent, but to say “Muslim” is a real stretch IMO. I am not denying that people can find all kinds of things in apocalyptic language (e.g. Jack Van Impe and Hal Lindsey, etc.) to support their personal eschatological views, but when someone dogmatically says, “He will be of MUSLIM descent”, that is nowhere explicitly taught in Scripture and I think it must be in order to make such claims.

    I haven’t read the book (and I am not sure I will) but I welcome you to share some of the “more than meets the eyes” Scriptures so I can draw my own conclusions.

    Thanks,
    Ben

  5. Well . . . if you take his name in the original Middle Eastern, Barach (6 letters), Husain (6 letters), Obahma (6 letters), it is clear that he IS the Antichrist=666.

    How’d I do? Could I get a book published and make a ton of cash? Watch out Van Impe, I’m the new guy on the scene.

  6. That was awesome Billy! I am sure Rexella would be singing your praises.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  7. Ben: It’s a comparison of Judeo-Christian eschatology to Islamic eschatology that leads some people to believe that the antichrist might be a Muslim. Muslims await the Mahdi who in their tradition bears a strong resemblance to the antichrist of Christian tradition.

  8. Nick,

    Jews still wait for their Messiah so why wouldn’t the anti-christ be Jewish? The point is that the Bible, and in this article specifically “Revelations” (notice the “s” ), says nothing of the anti-christ being Muslim. NOTHING. And it likewise says nothing of him being in his 40’s. That is irresponsible to make such claims and such baseless and fanatical “anti-christ” finger pointing makes all Christians look ridiculous.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  9. Hello,
    This is my first post here at your blog but I have enjoyed this resource of Arminian theology. I would respectfully ask you to give your definition of a fundamentalist Christian as I always thougt of myself as one without thinking it was a derogatory term.
    Also as a futurist in attempting to interpret prophecy i do realize that every generation of Christians has probably been guilty of interpreting scripture thru the lens of current events and i strive not to be guilty of the same. However there will be a generation that will certainly that generation that will experience the events prophecied by the prophets leading to God’s judgments and restoration of His creation.
    Just a few facts about the antichrist that may be of interest, according to the apostle John this spirit of antichrist will culminate in one end time figure that will emulate the teachings John spoke of. He will deny the Sonship of Jesus, and will deny Jesus is God in the flesh (1John 2:22, 1John 4:1-3). The antichrist will be an assyrian according to Isaiah- Isaiah 10:20-25 (NKJV)Isa 10:20 (NKJV) And it shall come to pass in that day That the remnant of Israel, And such as have escaped of the house of Jacob, Will never again depend on him who defeated them, But will depend on the LORD, the Holy One of Israel, in truth.
    Isa 10:21 (NKJV) The remnant will return, the remnant of Jacob, To the Mighty God.
    Isa 10:22 (NKJV) For though your people, O Israel, be as the sand of the sea, A remnant of them will return; The destruction decreed shall overflow with righteousness.
    Isa 10:23 (NKJV) For the Lord GOD of hosts Will make a determined end In the midst of all the land.
    Isa 10:24 (NKJV) Therefore thus says the Lord GOD of hosts: “O My people, who dwell in Zion, do not be afraid of the Assyrian. He shall strike you with a rod and lift up his staff against you, in the manner of Egypt.
    Isa 10:25 (NKJV) “For yet a very little while and the indignation will cease, as will My anger in their destruction.”
    I believe the antichrist is also Gog of both Ezekiel and Revelation. I believe satan will indwell gog of ezekiel and of revelation but obviously they will be different men.
    It seems to me that antichrist will be from an islamic country probably syria or iraq. Having said all of that i dont want to make this post too long but i will agree with you that to say this obama is just political propaganda.
    Let me close by saying I dont want to make my first post here controversial or appear confrontational as i really enjoy this site and your contributions to Arminian theology.
    Blessings and God bless…….Charlie

  10. Ben: Well, the majority of the world’s Jews aren’t really waiting for the Messiah. Remember, even the state of Israel is a secular state although religious Orthodox Jews comprise a vocal minority (around 20%). Plus the Bible seems to indicate that the antichrist will be a Gentile (this involves comparing Daniel with Revelation as statements from the Olivet Discourse), but also remember that “anti” means “opposed to” not “in place of” Christ. I think it’s an assumption that Jews will accept the antichrist as Messiah but there’s less in Scripture to support that idea than there is that the antichrist will be a Gentile.

    Also, since Islam didn’t exist at the time Revelation was written I don’t see why it would (or could) say anything explicit about the antichrist being Muslim. But there are certain things that point in that direction such as the method of execution being beheading during the tribulation period. And I’m telling you, the similarities between the awaited Mahdi of the Muslims and the antichrist are pretty striking. If nothing else it’s worth checking out just because it’s fascinating.

    I don’t know where anyone would come up with an age for the antichrist but it’s not really a question I’ve ever asked so it’s not one I’ve looked to answer. So it might be ridiculous to simply assert that the antichrist will be a 40 year old Muslim and that it might be Barack Obama, but if that assertion is backed with an argument then the ridiculousness of it decreases. Who knows, the argument might even be compelling.

    And for the record, I’m not saying that Obama is the antichrist. 🙂

  11. Nick,

    I am not saying that one cannot speculate that the ant-christ might be Muslim or that the Muslims aren’t expecting a Messiah type figure who might fit the bill (I have actually read a bit about this- I can’t remember the names but I know there is a British guy who many think is the “false prophet” who supposedly channels this Mahdi type figure and that this figure has made some mysterious “appearances” etc.); what I am saying is that it is all speculation and the Bible makes no such explicit statements.

    Well, the majority of the world’s Jews aren’t really waiting for the Messiah. Remember, even the state of Israel is a secular state although religious Orthodox Jews comprise a vocal minority (around 20%).

    That may be the case but religious Jews are certainly waiting for Messiah. I saw a documentary about a year ago concerning the Palestinian Jews who were likely going to be forced to move and lose their homes. A young Jewish woman was interviewed and through tears she expressed her desire for the Messiah to come and rescue her people. Even “secular” Jews might quickly return to their religious roots if an impressive Messiah type figure made an appearance.

    Plus the Bible seems to indicate that the antichrist will be a Gentile (this involves comparing Daniel with Revelation as statements from the Olivet Discourse), but also remember that “anti” means “opposed to” not “in place of” Christ. I think it’s an assumption that Jews will accept the antichrist as Messiah but there’s less in Scripture to support that idea than there is that the antichrist will be a Gentile.

    Many scholars would agree with all of this and many would disagree with all or most of this. Interpreting these prophecies is very difficult and many do not even see a connection between the Olivet discourse and the events of Revelation. Some see the Olivet discourse as being fulfilled while the events of Revelation have not and still others see both the events of Revelation and the Olivet discourse being fulfilled already. I don’t need to tell you about all the schools of thought involved here. There is also strong disagreement among scholars as to the identification and significance of the various rulers described in Daniel. And not all scholars would agree with the way you insist “anti” should be understood either.

    There is also disagreement as to the identity of the “beast” in Revelation. The fact is that Revelation does not use the name “ant-christ” at all, so even correlating the beast (and which beast?) with the anti-christ is interpretive.

    I don’t know where anyone would come up with an age for the antichrist but it’s not really a question I’ve ever asked so it’s not one I’ve looked to answer. So it might be ridiculous to simply assert that the antichrist will be a 40 year old Muslim and that it might be Barack Obama, but if that assertion is backed with an argument then the ridiculousness of it decreases. Who knows, the argument might even be compelling.

    Here is my point: The Bible nowhere says that the anti-christ will be a 40-something Muslim. We can speculate and fascinate over Muslim Mahdi parallels etc., but the bottom line is that the Bible does not say such things explicitly. The anti-christ might prove to be a 40-something Muslim, but the Bible does not specifically predict this, and to claim that “According to The Book of Revelations the anti-Christ will be a man, in his 40s, of MUSLIM descent” is irresponsible and makes Christians look bad. It simply isn’t true and whoever wrote this should be ashamed of himself for saying so. This kind of wild speculation presented as dogmatic truth, without any solid Scriptural foundation, needs to stop. We need to stand against those who have never picked up the Bible but think they know what it says because they read some “Left Behind” fiction. I am sure we are in agreement there.

    And for the record, I’m not saying that Obama is the antichrist.

    I didn’t think you did. Personally, I think the anti-christ will be a far more impressive figure than Barack Obama. I think we give him far too much credit in saying he could be the anti-christ 🙂

    God Bless,
    Ben

  12. Charlie,

    Thanks for stopping by. I consider myself to be a fundamentalist Christian as well. However, many do see fundamentalist Christians as “wacky” because of this exact type of thing (and because the most prominent and public Christian figures today call themselves fundamentalists, many of which are very “wacky” which causes those who watch and hear of their wackiness to paint the rest of us in the same light).

    Personally, I don’t see your Isaiah passages as necessarily eschatological nor do I see them as referring to the anti-christ. I will look more into it but I think this illustrates the speculative nature of prophecy.

    I am glad that you have found my site helpful and I hope you will continue to explore its resources and share your thoughts.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  13. Guys, Obama is not Muslim. Obama’s father was Muslim. Obama believes in liberation theology like his crazy pastor.

  14. So post the full email, now you’ve got my interest! 😉

  15. Kevin,

    I would be willing to e-mail it to you. E-mail me and I will send it your way.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  16. I do believe the Antichrist will be a nominal Muslim, or at least his father will be. It is speculative on my part rather than the clear teaching of the scripture, but I do believe my case is strong. See my series of posts on the subject if you’re interested.

    http://thundersounds.blogspot.com/2008/08/rise-and-fall-of-antichrist.html

  17. slw,

    Thanks for the link. I will check it out when I get the chance.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  18. Hi Ben, thanks for the email. I did a little looking into it. The first part was a real editorial. The second part about the Antichrist was added in later, and was not written by the original author.

    http://townhall.com/Columnists/KenBlackwell/2008/04/17/hijacked!

  19. Which it was either some overzealous… person trying to “improve” to email, or it was someone against it that wanted to make it sound less authoritative.

  20. Although Obama is probably not the Antichrist, he is a dangerous man, because he effectively censors out those who disagree with him. If he becomes president, I wouldn’t be surprised if America forever loses its place as a world superpower.

Leave a Reply

