Black Sabbath on Getting Right With God

Even Black Sabbath can get it right, at least in one song anyway:

Lyrics: Have you ever thought about your soul — can it be saved?
Or perhaps you think that when you’re dead you just stay in your grave
Is God just a thought within your head or is he a part of you?
Is Christ just a name that you read in a book when you were in school?

When you think about death do you lose your breath or do you keep your cool?
Would you like to see the Pope on the end of a rope — do you think he’s a fool?
Well I have seen the truth, yes I’ve seen the light and I’ve changed my ways
And I’ll be prepared when you’re lonely and scared at the end of our days

Could it be you’re afraid of what your friends might say
If they knew you believe in God above?
They should realize before they criticize
that God is the only way to love.

Is your mind so small that you have to fall
In with the pack wherever they run
Will you still sneer when death is near
And say they may as well worship the sun.

I think it was true it was people like you that crucified Christ
I think it is sad the opinion you had was the only one voiced
Will you be so sure when your day is near say you don’t believe?
You had the chance but you turned it down now you can’t retrieve.

Perhaps you’ll think before you say that God is dead and gone
Open your eyes, just realize that he’s the one
The only one who can save you now from all this sin and hate.
Or will you still jeer at all you hear? Yes — I think it’s too late

Here is a slightly tweaked rendition by Christian Metal band “Deliverance” (one of my all time favorites)

7 Responses

  1. I prefer the BioHazard version. 🙂 I heard it first on the Nativity in Black tribute.

  2. Interesting. This song is not really my style but in a lot of ways this gets it right with the lyrics. If you look back at the pharasees in Bible times they were truly hypocrits. However I would say this song doesnt describe them totally right, because they were constantly trying to fall the rigid of the law. But this song did pretty much hit the nail on the head.

  3. rex,

    Are you familiar with Deliverance? I think you would probably like them.

  4. Last I checked, Living Sacrifice, Demon Hunter, As I Lay Dying are the only ones I knew. *I need to recheck their backgrounds though hehe.

    Ok will check Deliverance out.

  5. NOOOOOHHHH I just listed As I Lay Dying there ^ then I just found out of some News that the singer has hired a hitman to kill his wife…

    Hope its not true….

  6. Wow, that is wild. And very sad. As you say, hopefully that is not true. I am not a fan of death metal or that growling style of singing. Deliverance started out as a speed metal, but the singer has a clean voice and is a very talented singer (he is also the founder of the group, guitarist and main song writer- Jimmy Brown). Their first three Cds followed this pattern, and those Cd’s are my favorites (though I do not own any of the others and have only heard a few songs from the others- I think they have 11 or 12 Cds altogether). Their later Cds remained heavy, but had a range of styles. The first three are “Deliverance”, “Weapons of Our Warfare” (The title track for this song actually made it onto “Head Banger’s Ball”) and “What a Joke”. This song comes off of “What a Joke” (The “joke” being the claims of skeptics and atheists against Christianity). These Cds are excellent in my opinion, if you like thrash/speed metal and solid Christian lyrics. Check em’ out on YouTube.

    Some great songs to get you started if you are browsing YouTube:

    “Deliverance”
    “No Time”
    “The Call”
    “Temporary Insanity”
    “Weapons of Our Warfare”
    “Slay the Wicked”
    “Flesh and Blood”
    “Pseudo Intellectual”
    “What a Joke”

    They also have a Heavy Metal version of “Jehovah Jireh” and “Silent Night.”

    Let me know what you think.

    Oh, their final Cd is coming out in September, according to their official website.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  7. Thanks for the introduction to those bands. Now looking at some other forums, Atheists and those who do not like the word “Christian” in from of Metal(Christian Metal) is having a field day.

    I guess even other Christians who thinks playing that kind of music is just flirting with the Devil are now on the attack.

    Also I found out that unbelievers are having a hard time about Christianity’s concept of forgiveness. I wonder what would their reactions be if they know or just found out about OSAS. 🙂

Leave a Reply

