Does Anyone Else Do This?

Often when I look at a digital clock I immediately think of a Scripture verse.  For example, if it happens to be 6:23 I think of Rom. 6:23, “For the wages of sin is death, but the free gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.”  If the time reads 11:32 I think of Rom. 11:32, “For God has shut up all in disobedience that He might show mercy to all.”  If the clock reads 6:44 I think of John 6:44, “No one can come to Me, unless the Father who sent Me draws him; and I will raise him up at the last day.”  If it is 12:32 I think of John 12:32, “And I, if I be lifted up from the earth, will draw all men unto Me.”

How about you?  Do you think of Scriptures when you look at a clock; and if so, which ones?

11 Responses

  1. Actually, I don’t have this happen often, although it would be cool if it did. I suppose it’s because I’m too single focused. When I look at a clock I’m too preoccupied with what ever reason I’m looking at it. 🙂

    Something similar that triggers my thinking like you describe…cultural expressions that are based on the Bible. For example my job performance review has a category called “going the extra mile”. When I saw this I thought of the sermon on the mount. There are a lot of cultural expressions like this, and it warms my heart when I see them used.

  2. Haha. I no longer feel as strange doing this. Then there was a stage when I’d look at the clock and it was always 3:16 – obvious John 3:16, but then I always think about 2 Tim 3:16 next.

  3. I sometimes do so

    Like the examples 😉

  4. If I knew my Scripture as well as you apparently do then I might but seeing as I don’t, I don’t.

  5. No, never.

  6. No, Ben. That’s what crazy people do. BTW, Merry Christmas… 🙂

    Sam

  7. Everyday, during lunch, at 12:31 my shrunken ex-Christian soul gets the shivers:

    For this reason I tell you, people will be forgiven for every sin and blasphemy, but the blasphemy against the Spirit will not be forgiven.
    – Matt 12:31

  8. Sabio,

    If that passage truly gives you the shivers there may be hope for you yet!

    Thanks for checking in again.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  9. Kevin: Me too

    Ari: Another great text to remember!

    Buddo: I don’t think it is a matter of knowing the scriptures that well. I really have very few passages memorized and when I see a clock and think of the passage I don’t necessarily remember it word for word, just the gist of it. Most passages that I have committed to memory are due to various investigations which caused me to focus on those passages for a long time (like the A/C debate). Sort of like my knowledge of my car and what certain parts do is based mostly on having those things break down at some point.

    Bethyada: Too bad.

    Sam: That explains it then.

    Jay: Guess you’re “crazy” just some of the time then.

    Thanks to all for the responses. It was fun.

  10. Yeah, well, I guess there is no hope for me then. Maybe I have no soul left to feel. What do you think?

  11. Sabio,

    I’m confused. I said I thought there was hope for you. Are you basically saying that you weren’t serious when you said that passage sometimes gives you the shivers and that is why you are now saying there is no hope for you? Either way, I would leave it up to God to determine whether or not there is still hope for you. I certainly would not say you have no soul capable of feeling, or anything like that.

    God Bless,
    Ben

Leave a Reply

