Simple Interpretive Principles

Hermeneutics is a fancy word theologians use for basic principles of interpretation.  This is an important topic for those who are serious about rightly understanding what the inspired authors of the Bible meant to convey.  Entire books have been written on the subject, but I thought I would point you towards a very short and helpful overview put together by Bethyada over at True Paradigm.  I would further encourage every Christian to invest in a book or two dealing with hermeneutics.  There is a lot of confusion out there today, because many Christians have no idea how to properly divide the word of truth.

6 Responses

  1. In my opinion, the best mid-level book on hermeneutics is “Grasping God’s Word: A Hands-On Approach to Reading, Interpreting, and Applying the Bible” by J. Scott Duvall and J. Daniel Hays. I have read about a dozen books on hermeneutics, but this one is my favorite. Check it out at amazon.com.

  2. Thanks, I only just read this. I probably need more detail in how people who have a similar approach come to different conclusions.

    What I didn’t mention is how important the creation/ fall/ redemption theme has become to me. I wouldn’t say a filter, but a backdrop to my worldview.

    In terms on the Arminian/ Calvinist debate I am not certain which of these is the biggest source of disagreement. I tend to think I am Arminian because of the unity principle. Sure, if Romans 9 was all we had, but unity with the other 1188 chapters makes Calvinism difficult to sustain.

  3. Steve,

    Thanks for the book reference.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  4. Sure, if Romans 9 was all we had, but unity with the other 1188 chapters makes Calvinism difficult to sustain.

    I understand what you mean, but I think when we consider the way Paul is using the OT in Romans 9, and consider the chapter in its proper context (Rom. 9-11), and against the backdrop of the entire epistle (all basic hermeneutics), it is impossible to come up with the Calvinist interpretation. Of course, the other 1188 chapters of the Bible help too 🙂

    God Bless,
    Ben

  5. I don’t know if I would say impossible. I am happy that Romans has a good Arminian interpretation and I have read some good stuff. (I would be interested to know if there are translation issues that come thru into our Bibles). But I think the Calvinists have a bit of a case here. While superficial readings may not always be correct, we cannot dismiss them.

    So I am not saying in my comment that Romans 9 is Calvinist, just that it seems to be their best evidence and even if one read it calvinistically, unity of Scripture would suggest this may be incorrect.

  6. I don’t know if I would say impossible…But I think the Calvinists have a bit of a case here. While superficial readings may not always be correct, we cannot dismiss them.

    Well, anything is possible. The point was that if we continue reading in context (rather than focusing on a few passages in isolation), we will not be able to sustain the C interp, without getting very creative with certain portions of 9:30-11:32 (esp. 9:30-33; 11:11, 17-26, 30-32).

    So for me, the C interp is not reasonable when Paul’s words are considered in their proper context. Paul’s further comments concerning these so called “reprobated” Jews is simply out of harmony with the C interp. Of course, there are many Calvinists that would disagree with me, but I have yet to see a convincing argument from the C camp as to how these passages harmonize with their view.

    And as you say, unity of Scripture also works against it.

    God Bless,
    Ben

Leave a Reply

