What’s on Deck

It seems I have less and less time to write posts these days but I am working on a few things.  I received the little Calvinist apologetic The Five Dilemmas of Calvinism , by Craig Brown, for Christmas.  It was recommended to me by a Calvinist and the reviews at Amazon were very good.  I have not finished the book but what I have read so far seems to me to be some of the worst Calvinist apologetics in print.  Hopefully it will get better.   When I finish the book I will do a few posts on some of Brown’s arguments.

I am also working on another post concerning provisional atonement and a post dealing with the subject of the reality and/or illusion of “choice”.  I hope to have at least one of these posts completed and up by the weekend.  In the mean time I want to direct you to some very interesting posts by a four point Calvinist regarding Roger Nicole’s arguments for limited atonement against the actual writings of John Calvin.  It gets to the heart of whether or not we are justified to interpret “all” as “some among all” in universal passages like 1 Tim. 2:3-6.

Answering Roger Nicole on 1 Tim. 2:5 (Part 1)

Part 2

Part 3

I also want to direct you to an article by JCT in response to Steve Camp’s arguments for infant damnation.

Whose Way is Fair? A Reply to Steve Camp on Infant Damnation

Also, there have been many articles added in the side bar (to the right) over the last few weeks.  There are some new articles under most headings (e.g. Faith/Perseverance).  Please look them over for any that may be of interest to you.

God Bless

[Note: I have been corrected by the writer of the posts (linked to above) concerning Nicole and Calvin.  The person who wrote those posts does not take the “L” in TULIP in the same way as the typical 5-point Calvinist, but prefers to not be called a 4-point Calvinist as he does still hold to limited atonement]

10 Responses

  1. Man that is good stuff there you are working on. I look foward to reading them all.

    I too have limited time so my blog goes up and down on posts. I am not a professional blogger like Pyromaniacs or Tim Challies.

  2. Roy,

    Man that is good stuff there you are working on. I look foward to reading them all.

    I can only hope they live up to the “hype” 🙂

    I too have limited time so my blog goes up and down on posts. I am not a professional blogger like Pyromaniacs or Tim Challies.

    Yeah, Pyros is a team blog so that helps with keeping the posts coming. Not sure how Challies does it. And Billy at Classical Arminian is a machine. He doesn’t have a family but he is in school so I remain amazed at the amount of quality writing he produces. He is my idol.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  3. Hi Ben,

    It seems I have less and less time to write posts these days but I am working on a few things.

    And here I thought you were just drinking in the Steelers success…. 🙂 Looking forward to your upcoming posts.

    God be with you,
    Dan

  4. Hey Ben. Billy and I started a blog with an open inventation for all SEA members called the Calvinism Wall of Shame. Would you be interested in putting your future series on Brown on that site?

  5. Hi,
    Just want to encourage you! Thanks for taking time out to blog. I really enjoy reading them and it helps further my understanding of God.
    I’m looking forward to the future posts, they sound amazing.
    In Christ,
    Peter

  6. Peter,

    Thanks for the ecouragement. I will be checking out your site.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  7. jc_freak,

    If you think it will qualify.

  8. Dan,

    If the Steelers make it to the SB and win, then I will be drinking in the success. Until then I am fasting.

    God Bless,
    Ben

  9. Hi Ben. Thanks for your links to my articles critiquing Roger Nicole. I am somewhat dismayed to find you referring to me as a “four point” Calvinist — though this is entirely understandable. I do not deny limited atonement, though I don’t hold it in the way most “five pointers” do. I think I agree with R. L. Dabney, who said that the limitation is in the decree to apply, and nowhere else.

    I wrote an article about limited atonement that might help to explain my position.

    Thanks for the link … I’ll reciprocate. 🙂

    Sincerely,
    Steve

  10. Thanks for the note about my position vis a vis the L in TULIP. I appreciate your kindness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

